Temporary Storage
Overview¶
Each node in every cluster has some amount of shared temporary space that can be used while jobs are running. This is intended to be temporary space for job output and not extra storage for your group or a home directory expansion. Abuse of this shared space can result in your jobs being cancelled and your account being locked.
Franklin:
- Local temporary storage on each node in
/tmprequires users to delete the data as they finish with it. Please clean up after yourself at the end of each job.
Farm:
- Local storage on each node:
/tmpand/scratch. Both point to the same storage and are automatically cleaned as your job exits.
Hive
-
Local storage on each node:
/tmpand/scratch. Both point to the same storage and are automatically cleaned as your job exits. -
Shared scratch:
/nfs/hive/scratch: auto-deleted on a schedule. -
Shared MPI-IO scratch:
/nfs/hive/scratch-mpi-io: mounted with options to work with MPI-IO. auto-deleted on a schedule.
Shared scratch¶
Hive's shared NFS scratch space is a shared file system for temporary data, such as intermediate files from Slurm jobs. This space is volatile: the files there do not persist. An automatic cleanup process deletes files from the scratch space, so you must not store critical data there. The correct location for critical data is your PI storage. When a job completes, we encourage you to delete your scratch files so that the automatic cleanup is not necessary.
Shared scratch auto-delete policy¶
Danger
Do not store critical data in the shared scratch space, because an automatic cleanup process deletes old files.
Data on Hive's shared scratch (and MPI-IO scratch) will be automatically deleted by a nightly job if the storage is more than 75% full. The algorithm is to sort the files by access time and start deleting until the usage falls below 75%. If the cleanup process gets to files that were last accessed less than 35 days ago, it will sort the files by creation time and delete the oldest until usage falls below 75%.
NOTE: Both of these options can delete files that are still in use, so it is to everyone's benefit if every user cleans their temporary files so this auto-delete never needs to run.